Return to Headlines

Orange Honored at the 2019 EZ Ride Annual Recognition Luncheon

At the EZ Ride 2019 Annual Recognition Luncheon on October 29, the City of Orange Township and the Orange Township Public School District received the following awards:

  • Champion of Change Award – Mr. Barry Devone, Community Engagement Officer
  • Safe Routes to School Awards
    • First Steps - Lincoln Avenue School
    • Gold Level - City of Orange Township
    • Gold Level - Forest Street Community School
    • Gold Level - Rosa Parks community School

The event, held at the Gran Centurions in Clark, NJ, honored corporate, municipal, and school leaders for implementing transportation and safety programs that make a difference in our communities. EZ Ride’s theme this year was “Building Sustainable Community Transportation,” and the keynote speaker was Diane Gutierrez-Scaccetti, Commissioner, New Jersey Department of Transportation (NJDOT). EZ Ride, a not for profit Transportation Management Association (TMA), presented recognition awards in three categories:

  1. Champions for Change Awards for Individuals
  2. NJ Smart Workplaces Awards for Businesses
  3. Safe Routes to School Awards for Municipalities and Schools


At the ceremony, Mayor Dwayne D. Warren, Esq., gave an overview of the Safe Routes to School (SRTS) program in the City of Orange. He highlighted the $1 million infrastructure funding awarded to the city in recognition of its efforts to improve and support walking and community safety and work towards zero pedestrian injuries and fatalities.


Mr. Devone received a Champion of Change Award for his efforts to introduce EZ Ride and the Safe Routes to School programs to Orange and to promote walking and biking in the community. 


Additionally, as a First Step School, Lincoln Avenue School has started the process to join the statewide initiative to enable and encourage students to safely walk and bicycle to school. This year Forest Street and Rosa Parks Community Schools reached the pinnacle of the SRTS program with Gold Level achievements. In 2018, Oakwood Avenue Community School received a Silver Level award, and Heywood Avenue School earned a Bronze Level award. Awards remain in place for three years.


Superintendent of Schools Gerald Fitzhugh, II, EdD., congratulates Mr. Devone, along with Rosa Parks Community School, Forest Street Community School, and Lincoln Avenue School for their achievement and commitment to the safety of our students as they walk and bike to school.